(mostly) daily photoblog

Whoever you are, whatever you do, wherever you may be, when you think of refreshment, think of ice cold Coca-Cola.

I am, unabashedly, a Coke addict.  When I saw this giant, flashing Coke sign in Vegas I had to photograph it.  I know that Coke is bad for me and my teeth and my gut, but I love it.  I love the artificial color and flavor.  I love the more-sugar-than-anyone-needs-in-one-sitting dosage.  I love the caffeine.  I love that it’s bad for me.  I love that everyone has stories about it being used as drain cleaner, that it has cocaine in it, that if you turn it sideways and view the Coca-Cola logo it looks like someone snorting cocaine, that you could use it to poison gophers – no kidding, I grew up on the prairies where prairie dogs run rampant and leave holes in yards and when I was a kid someone told me that his dad had put coca-cola in a pie pan that had lead in it and the Coke had eaten the lead out of the pan and the gophers had indulged and then died of lead poisoning.  Crazy.

This stuff has been around since 1886.  It is what you order whether the restaurant serves Pepsi or RC or Jolt – you ask for Coke.  It has weathered every health food trend.  It is internationally recognized.  And on a hot day after mowing the lawn or golfing eighteen holes, all I want is a cold Coca-Cola.  Always Coca-Cola.

p.s.  The slogan in the title comes from a 1939 ad campaign that Coca-Cola ran.

6 responses

  1. I am a Pepsi fan, but I did have a coke yesterday. I love your perspective of the sign. It’s “less being more” here. Nice simple shot says a lot!

    August 21, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    • Thanks. It was 105 degrees and my wife and I were walking down Las Vegas Boulevard and I had one shot.

      August 21, 2010 at 9:47 pm

  2. I’m pretty big on coca-cola too!

    cool photo~

    http://tracyzhangphoto.wordpress.com/

    August 21, 2010 at 9:42 pm

  3. True Very True Absolutely
    Visual Treat
    Me Heart 🙂

    August 22, 2010 at 1:08 am

  4. nothing much

    woah woah woah, if you turn it sideways, it looks like someone snorting cocaine?

    coca-cola forever.

    August 26, 2010 at 9:22 am