(mostly) daily photoblog

Haystack Rock; or how I started my Oregon Coast vacation

The B Family is almost done a week-long run along the Oregon Coast and I thought it would be appropriate to share a religious moment:  Haystack Rock.  See, when I grew up there were these two movies, Goonies and Kindergarten Cop, wherein Haystack Rock featured.  The image of this rock, and its accompanying “needles”, has been burned into my wife’s and my brain to the extent that we both squealed when we came off the US 101 highway and first saw Haystack Rock in the distance.

As we giggled and grinned at each other our kids looked at us, then each other, and had a good laugh at us.  When we tried to explain to them why this rock was making us silly, they stared at us with even more wonder.  They were impressed with the beach, but our strange fascination with the rock, well I don’t think they will ever get that.

Pentax K20D; Sigma 70-210mm; f11; ISO 100; 1/200 sec.

2 responses

  1. nothing much

    i adore the oregon coast. your wonder is rightly placed.

    August 6, 2010 at 1:30 am

  2. Oh, brother, parents!!!!

    August 7, 2010 at 2:07 pm