(mostly) daily photoblog

The only game at which my grandma used to beat me.

My parents used to go on date nights and they would drop off my sisters and me at my grandma’s house.  Grandma always had cookies (frozen by the dozen in one gallon ice cream containers – “just in case visitors showed up at the door” as she used to say) and games.  Games that I never played at home, but always played at grandma’s house.  We never played cards, tool of the devil and all that.  We, instead, played Chinese checkers and crokinole.  We never called it “crokinole” but what we called it I’m not sure I can write accurately.  We called it “knipstesh” – “knips” for the action of placing your index or middle finger against your thumb, creating a little pressure and then letting it go against that little disc while trying to knock your opponent’s pieces off the board; and “stesh” for, uh, I don’t know.  It was never explained to me.

Explanation or no, grandma would whip my hide in this game all the time.  She could set up “20’s” (perfect shots into the middle) all night, bouncing her pieces off mine to get the high scores.  I don’t know what kind of Mennonite spells she could cast to beat me, but I knew there was no way I would win.  I loved her, but she was ruthless.

Pentax K2oD; Pentax DA 18-55mm AL II; f11; ISO 400; 1/4 sec.

Comments are closed.