(mostly) daily photoblog

I just put it right there!

Someday, when my kids are grown up, I will be able to walk along the trail by the river.  As long as my kids are along, however, we must spend time in or next to the river.  My son has to be reminded regularly that the river is moving very quickly and that falling in might be disastrous.  His response is always, “I know.  I won’t.  I know.”

So when we went to the river yesterday, I reminded him of all the dangers involved.  Then he decided to take off his Crocs to wash the mud out of them.

My wife:  “Don’t lose your shoes down the river.”

Ben:  “I know.  I won’t.  I know.”

My wife:  “Where’s your other shoe?”

Ben:  “I put it right there (pointing at the shore behind him).”

My wife:  “Well, where is it?”

Ben:  “I just put it right there (with indignation).”

My wife:  “It’s not there now.”

Ben:  “But I just put it right there!  (big pause)  Uh oh.”

Ben was carried from the river back to the vehicle, so he was rewarded.  My wife and I, who shared carrying duties, were punished for not stapling Ben’s shoes to his feet.  Oh, and the photo above, those are Ben’s feet after the mishap.

Pentax K20D; Pentax DA 18-55mm AL II; f5.6; ISO 100; 1/640 sec.

One response

  1. Tes

    hahaha just like my son!
    When we went to beach, his shoes were wash away… good that my sister’s a great swimmer.. she got them back for us 🙂

    July 21, 2010 at 3:53 am