(mostly) daily photoblog

Beauty in the midst of a storm

Two mornings ago I awoke at 5:51 a.m. when there was a loud (by my sleepy account) bang in my house.  I jumped out of bed, ready to take down the perpetrator of some horrible crime in my house.  Turned out it was the wind, which was kicking up quite the little storm outside and had blown in through my son’s open window and slammed his door shut.  I remedied this and then went through the house checking for open windows, blowing curtains and other possible hazards to my going back to sleep.  With the patio umbrella all closed up and the deck chairs and barbecue tucked against the house I went back to bed.

I couldn’t sleep.  I went back to the den and grabbed my camera and noticed that with the windstorm that was blowing up came an absolutely beautiful sunrise.  Looking off my deck I took the shot that you see above.

Beauty in the midst of a storm.

Pentax K20D; Pentax DA 18-55mm AL II; f8; ISO 100; 1/320 sec.

One response

  1. Kerry

    Missed you!! Great picture. 🙂

    July 14, 2010 at 11:02 am