(mostly) daily photoblog

Always know what’s being locked in, or out.

Recently I’ve become enamored of locks and chains.  Perhaps it’s the fifteen year old boy living inside my head who still loves firecrackers and matches and the painful comfort of bruises (yes, I poke my bruises, don’t you?) who wants to get past the lock and chain to find out what’s so valuable that it has to be chained in.

The lock and chain below belong to my kids’ school yard.  It is meant to keep vehicles, not people, out of the yard in which children play.  I get it.  Safety.  I don’t want to see some errant Mom, frustrated by the lateness of her children, accidentally hitting the gas instead of the brake and careening into a bunch of children playing tree tag.  Good lock.

The lock below, on the flipside, is on the same grounds as the lock above, but I’ve never once seen it locked.  It is a lock on a dumpster.  Presumably it is there to deter Dads from throwing away their McDonald’s garbage before their kids see it, and make the school pay for the disposal (uh, not that I’ve ever done that).

If I were you, I’d expect to see more lock photos in the coming weeks.  I seem to be on a bit of a kick here.

Pentax K20D; Tokina 28-70mm

Comments are closed.