(mostly) daily photoblog

Fishing makes me want to fish…

When I see someone fishing, fly-fishing, trolling, whatever, it makes me want to fish.  When I was a kid I used to fish from a boat.  My Grandfather’s boat.  He would wake up early and check the weather and then wake me up to get me on the boat.  At ten years old I had so little consciousness at 6:00 a.m. that I’m surprised I didn’t fall into the lake and drown, but had so much respect for, and fear of, my grandfather that I got up and went out with him.

We’d sit on the water in the boat and say nothing for an hour.  The sun would come up and the lake would light up beautifully and the fish would ignore us, or not, and we’d fish.  The only breaks in silence would be a loon on the lake and the water lapping against the boat.  Grandpa would start the engine and tell me to hold on to the rods and we’d troll and hope to get some fish.  If we didn’t, we’d be back on the lake later in the day.  Truthfully, we’d be on the boat later anyway, whether we’d caught fish or not.

When I see someone fishing now it makes me long for the fishing trips of my youth and their silence and peace and unspoken understandings.

Pentax K20D; Pentax DA 18-55mm AL II; f 7.1; ISO 100; 1/250 sec.

4 responses

  1. Kerry

    I loved going to Grandpa and Grandma’s cabin. I didn’t enjoy the fishing or eating the fish but I do remember loving the boat. Your post brought back a lot of memories for me. 🙂

    May 18, 2010 at 12:12 pm

  2. momromp

    Not much of a fishing fan, but I must tell you that all your pictures really make me want to move to Canada.

    May 21, 2010 at 4:42 pm

    • Thank you. I really do live in a beautiful part of the country.

      As for you, how have you been? I haven’t seen a post in a while and thought one of my net friends had disappeared. I hope everything is well.

      May 21, 2010 at 5:15 pm

      • momromp

        You’ve read my post by now, so you know that I’ve been otherwise occupied (read: pregnant, grumpy, tending to an even grumpier toddler, etc.). I’ve missed your beautiful photos. So good to hear from you, my net friend.

        May 21, 2010 at 6:46 pm