(mostly) daily photoblog

Railways are Mysterious and Romantic

Ever since I was a little Canadian kid watching “The Littlest Hobo” (a Canadian television series about a German Shepherd who helped people and traveled around Canada via the railway lines) I have wanted to ride the rails.  There seems to something very idyllic about traveling slowly through my country while someone else is in control.  Railways make me think of “From Russia With Love” and “Murder on the Orient Express.”  Or “O Brother, Where Art Thou” or “Polar Express” or “Strangers on a Train” or “Trainspotting.”

Come to think of it, I don’t understand my romantic feelings about railways at all.  Hercule Poirot solves a murder on a train.  James Bond is nearly murdered on a train.  Ulysses Everett McGill is trying to escape prison and is tossed off the train because his fellow prisoners can’t run fast enough.  Alfred Hitchcock’s strangers meet and plan the murder of each other’s problems (a problem wife and a father).  “Trainspotting” with Ewan McGregor, as Mark Renton, is a film about a bunch of strung-out heroin addicts.  “Polar Express” and “The Littlest Hobo” are really the only positive inclusions and both of them are obvious fictions meant for younger audiences.

I take it all back.  Railways suck.

Pentax K20D; Pentax M SMC 50mm; f2.8; ISO 100; 1/2500 sec.

2 responses

  1. Wallace

    That, as my daughter would say was “random”. I don’t think the attraction comes from literature, I think an illiterate person can appreciate a thundering train. Oh and when I took VIA across Canada and couldn’t sleep for four days from the motion sickness that really cured me of any romanticism about railways.

    There’s a voice that keeps on calling me
    Down the road, that’s where I’ll always be.
    Every stop I make, I make a new friend,
    Can’t stay for long, just turn around and I’m gone again

    May 6, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    • I’ve always wanted to travel VIA across Canada. I never thought of the motion sickness that could accompany the ride. As for the randomness, things have been a bit crazy around the homestead here and school’s coming to a close (for high school, anyway) – all contributing to the swirls in my head.

      May 6, 2010 at 8:23 pm