(mostly) daily photoblog

Chucks are my favorite, most hated, shoe.

Ever since I was a kid, I’ve loved Converse All-Stars.  I associate them with all things cool and I have owned a few pairs.  The ironic thing is that I hate wearing them because I find they’re unbelievably flat, and aid not one bit in holding up my arches (man I feel old when I write that).  I would get home, take them off and feel a great sense of “aaahhhh…”  I love Chucks but I hate them.

These Chucks were worn by Tim Neufeld, of the band “Starfield,” who I saw last night at Harrison Resort.  Chucks belong on guys in bands, or hipsters (who probably don’t wear them because they’re no longer ironic) or high school students.  Not 36 year old dad-teachers.

Pentax K20D; Sigma 70-210mm; f4; ISO 1600; 1/8 sec.

One response

  1. Kerry

    I’ve always loved them too, but don’t know why. I have only owned one pair…a hot pink pair in the seventh grade..and I wore them with such pride. And, I don’t remember them being uncomfortable. Maybe I’ll have to get a pair. 🙂

    May 5, 2010 at 6:26 pm