(mostly) daily photoblog

Wonton

The family (including my parents) went out for Chinese food last night.  It was good, but I’ve come to the conclusion that I love Wonton soup.  The rest of the menu, at most of the places around here, is okay, but I really like Wonton soup.  Broccoli, pork and those little brains floating around in that delicious broth has become my only reason to go to our local Chinese restaurants.

I’ve tried to get Ben (the pickiest eater I could have ever asked for as a son) to eat some of this soup by using young boy psychology:  “Ben, you should try this.  It’s got brains in it.”

Ben’s reply?  “Ew.  Why would I want to eat brains?”

Pentax K20D; Pentax M SMC 50mm; f1.7; ISO 400; 1/50 sec.

3 responses

  1. Hehe! I find your logic perfectly sound. I have no idea why Ben would not want to eat brains.
    My boys always imagined themselves to be giants, so making them eat broccoli, for example, was a cinch. Broccoli = trees.

    April 11, 2010 at 1:38 pm

    • If only it were that easy for Ben. He’s quite literal when he wants to be, yet he grasps so many things that are figurative. I fear, however, that he’s a lot like me and finds certain textures of food unappealing. I can’t stand tomatoes, mushrooms, anything that’s mushy; not because of the taste but because of how it feels in my mouth.

      April 11, 2010 at 7:41 pm

      • If only I had that “handicap” – sadly I love all foods, bizarre and otherwise.
        My people are picky eaters too. I never thought about that some might not like to eat things because of texture. hmmmmmm…

        April 12, 2010 at 6:30 am