(mostly) daily photoblog

Breakfast

This is what Easter Breakfast looks like at my church.  I love the community aspect of it.  Everyone brings baked goods and shares as a great big group, drinks coffee and sits around tables, most likely discussing what they are eating.  My favorite part of this?  Paska.  It’s a traditional Easter bread (originates in Ukraine – one of many places where Mennonites lived).

We’re not “traditional” Mennonites.  In fact, if you are familiar with Mennonites from Pennsylvania or Kansas or Indiana, you’d not recognize us at all.  The major tenets have been lost, except for the food.  Our entire culture is based around food.  Mennonites I know, who don’t attend church, don’t know what pacifism or anabaptism are, all know what paska and farmer sausage and perogies are.  They all line up to buy portzelky (deep fried raisin fritters sold in paper bags so that the grease has somewhere to go) at the annual MCC sale (Mennonite Central Committee – a missions organization).

I still hold with this, however: community matters.  Most of these people, awesome people, don’t know me well, but they’d help me if I needed it.  That’s amazing and appreciated.

Pentax K20D; Pentax DA 18-55mm AL II; panorama merged in PS CS4.

One response

  1. Kerry

    Paska, perogies and farmer sausage…now that is a meal!!!

    April 7, 2010 at 11:16 am