(mostly) daily photoblog

Space Mountain

This is Space Mountain.  My son had never taken a ride on a “real” roller coaster before, so I felt some trepidation about taking him on Space Mountain as his first roller coaster experience.  We got on, rode up the first climb and felt the cold air at the top.  As we peaked and took the first turn, Ben stayed quiet.  As we were whipped through consecutive curves, Ben stayed quiet.  As I screamed and yelled, Ben stayed quiet.  When we came to a stop I looked over at Ben.  He was looking straight ahead, eyes bugged out, and still quiet.

Thinking I had traumatized Ben, I asked (a little scared), “So, what did you think?”

Ben says, his voice a crescendo, “That…WAS…AWESOME!”

Ben’s a roller coaster nut.  Yay!

Pentax K20D; Pentax DA 18-55mm AL II; f8; ISO 100; 1/640 sec.

2 responses

  1. Ben is right it’ one of my favorite rides too!

    April 6, 2010 at 11:39 am

  2. momromp

    Great story. Oddly enough,even though I typically hate roller coasters (which is such a shame since I grew up in the land of great amusement parks…Cedar Point, Kings Island, both in Ohio), I loved riding on Space Mountain.

    April 6, 2010 at 1:37 pm