(mostly) daily photoblog

Camellia

This bloom is from a camellia that is growing in my backyard.  Whenever I see it blooming in Spring, I’m reminded of the girl who broke my wrist in 5th grade.  She was tall and gangly.  She was athletic and strong and did not break my wrist on purpose.  She pulled me off a low book shelf, where I was seated, and I landed on my wrist, so technically I broke my wrist, not her.  Then my teacher came in the classroom, my mom was called and I went to the hospital and had to have a needle shoved into my arm down to the bone to anesthetize it so the doctor could set it and cast it.  I got to have an A&W cheeseburger and fries that night.

Oh, and the girl, whose actions precipitated all of this, her name was Camellia.

Pentax K20D; Pentax M SMC 50mm; f1.7; ISO 100; 1/250 sec.

4 responses

  1. momromp

    I like that you waited until the end of your post to clarify the connection between the flower and that girl. Another great picture.

    April 1, 2010 at 8:23 pm

    • Thanks. We called her Cammy. She was nice and all, but she emasculated me in the 5th grade. It’s hard to be tough when a girl tugs on your arm and, in the ensuing fall, something breaks.

      April 1, 2010 at 8:27 pm

  2. Kerry

    Marc, you made me laugh…I totally forgot about that incident. And, for the record, when I broke both my arms and hurt my nose, Dad took me out to McDonald’s for a happy meal. 🙂 Guess that’s how I started my love of comfort food…hahahaha.

    April 2, 2010 at 8:41 am

  3. I remember both of the arm breaks for you and Kerry, also the stitches, Marc, that you still have scars from….aren’t you glad Ben only broke a toe and no stitches!!

    April 3, 2010 at 9:16 am