(mostly) daily photoblog

Wheels

There’s a moment when I forget that I’m taking a picture of something that belongs to someone.

So I’m leaning out my driver’s side window and focusing on the wheel of this work van (yes, this belongs on the van of a landscaper). I take the photo and look up to find the owner of the vehicle staring at me.  I sheepishly smile and nod my head, compliment his van and hope that I’ve suddenly become invisible.  I love feeling like a total dork while doing something I love.

Pentax K20D; Sigma 70-210mm; f8; ISO 100; 1/25 sec.

4 responses

  1. that looks quite cool for a wheel of a landscaper van.
    Cool shot

    March 26, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    • Thanks. There’s two of these work-vans around my hometown: one belongs to our local bicycle shop owner, and the other to this landscaper guy. Both are these square looking cube delivery van with sliding doors on each side, and are tricked out in the wheels and engine categories. So cool, I almost want one.

      March 26, 2010 at 11:17 pm

  2. i always feel weird taking pictures of other people’s stuff too.. I am having to learn to just do it… and pretend like no one can see me!

    March 28, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    • I’ve taken my cue from a few photogs who are infinitely more experienced and better at this than I am. The one I’m most enamored with is Sam Javanrouh, and this post has helped me immensely around the area of what I’m allowed to do and not allowed to do.

      Mostly, I take the shot and hope no one’s getting too upset with me. Often, forgiveness is much easier to get than permission.

      March 28, 2010 at 8:18 pm