(mostly) daily photoblog

Chess

Two days ago Ben, my son, demanded to speak to me on the cell phone.  During our talk, he informed me that he wanted to play chess with me.  When I got home Ben tells me that he has no idea how to play, but that we’ll learn together.  We played, and I won.  I’m competitive and I love my son but he’s six and I’m not letting him beat me – yeah, I’m petty that way.  I managed to snap a few photos along the way.

Lucky me, in so many ways.

Pentax K20D; Pentax SMC M 50mm; f1.7; ISO 200; 1/320 sec.

2 responses

  1. momromp

    I absolutely love this photo. I wish I knew some cool photography words so I could better praise it, but alas, I don’t. My dad never let me win at any games; I had to win on my own. I don’t think that’s petty, frankly. I think you’re teaching your son a very valuable lesson.

    March 26, 2010 at 7:12 pm

    • Thanks. As for the photo, I shot it in a very “shallow depth of field” so as to create the feeling that only Ben’s hand, and those chess pieces near him, are in focus.

      As for the lesson, it’s one Ben really needs to learn, because he hates losing almost as much as I do.

      March 26, 2010 at 11:18 pm