(mostly) daily photoblog

Graffiti Red Man

One of my favorite places in Abbotsford.  I’ve never felt the proper indignation that is expected of a contributing member of society at the art that’s painted on public space.  True, I’m not a fan of spray-painting the wall of my school or city hall, but I appreciate a good bit of skill shown off on the right “canvas.”

This is not tagging.  This is not vandalism.  This is art.

Let me know what you think.  Is this art?

Pentax K20D; Pentax DA 18-55mm AL II; f5; ISO 400; 1/60 sec.

3 responses

  1. momromp

    I think graffiti is impressive, personally. I’ve spray-painted some battered pieces of furniture and I even found that simple use of spray-paint difficult. It takes some serious talent to use spray-paint to produce a recognizable image. So, yeah, I think graffiti is art.

    March 23, 2010 at 6:47 pm

  2. Wallace

    In the right place, as you said. I guess it’s still art even when it’s vandalizm but it doesn’t make it right.

    March 23, 2010 at 9:50 pm

    • I guess my problem is that so much of it is so clearly a demonstration of amazing skill, but the “private/public” debate is so strong when it comes to graffiti. I’m completely offended by the mass marketing of consumerism at bus stops and billboards, but it’s acceptable because someone has paid for the space. It doesn’t matter if it has no artistic merit, nor any message that provokes or makes me ponder. Yet art is ignored, painted over, and derided as vandalism.

      Maybe we need a public space that can be used as a place for expression. I’m not sure what that would look like…too many things to ponder too late at night.

      March 23, 2010 at 10:35 pm