(mostly) daily photoblog

Lego: just hangin’ around

We had gotten up at 4:00 am to get to the plane on time, spent a couple of hours flying, a couple of hours waiting for luggage and then in transportation to the hotel.  We had packed our luggage into the hotel and then had a few hours to kill.  I thought my kids were going to falter, spaz out, start crying uncontrollably.

While killing time, we traveled to “Downtown Disney.”  My children, who minutes earlier were begging to be carried and asking when we could go to the hotel to lie down, started dancing to the soundtrack of my wife’s life (think ’80’s and ’90’s top 40).

Ben, who begs to be carried and to go home at the best of times, saw the Lego Store in the offing and broke into a sprint.  I thought of calling after him.  Instead, I broke into a sprint as well, and tried to beat him to the store.  Childlike excitement, 1; maturity, 0.

Pentax K20D; Pentax DA 18-55mm AL II; f6.3; ISO 100; 1/125 sec.

5 responses

  1. haha, great picture.
    My boys used to love playing and shopping at the Downtown Disney Lego store. They should build a bar for the parents in there, the kids would get to spend a whole lot more money then.

    March 21, 2010 at 6:49 pm

    • Are you kidding? I built my own Lego men and spent half the time in the store trying to figure out how I could justify bringing back Lego just for me.

      It was an awesome experience.

      March 21, 2010 at 6:54 pm

  2. momromp

    Your wife has a good soundtrack (I am a shameless lover of the top 40 songs of the 90s). My daughter has recently discovered Legos and she is a fan, a development that thrills my husband. Nice post and great picture.

    March 21, 2010 at 9:22 pm

  3. I still love legos and I am 30. I wish I had some to play with right now.
    Love the post… and that Disney brings out the kid in every one of us!

    March 28, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    • Totally agree. I just built a Lego Atlantis vehicle for my son tonight. My son’s problem, with me, is that he wants to play with the Lego that we’ve built and I consider building to be playing. I just want to build. But I remember the “good old days” when my grandma would buy a “1000 random pieces” box for me for Christmas and then no one would see me for the rest of the day.

      March 28, 2010 at 8:22 pm