(mostly) daily photoblog

Fireworks

Our first day in Disneyland was a long one.  We stayed most of the day, from around eight in the morning until a couple hours after lunch.  After resting up at the hotel for a couple of hours we went back in and stayed for the fireworks.  We didn’t bank on the humongous lines, and ended up watching the explosive show from FrontierLand.  The shot above shows what we saw:  awesome fireworks with a foreground including one of our favorites, Big Thunder Mountain.

On a side note, the fireworks are far quieter in the park than they are when you’re in your hotel trying to sleep after a ridiculously long day of flying, shopping, walking and anticipating.  The night before, at 9:30, when the family was quietly sleeping, gigantic BOOMS began, as the fireworks were echoing outside the park.  I though we were under attack.  All part of the fun, I guess.

Pentax K20D; Pentax DA 18-55mm AL II; f6.3; ISO 1600; 1/13 sec.

2 responses

  1. momromp

    I know nothing about photography, but this is, in my opinion, a fantastic shot. And I don’t even like fireworks. (I really don’t.)

    March 16, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    • Thanks.

      You should see how many shots should be in the discard pile. Shooting fireworks is a bit of a “crapshoot”, especially when you’re shooting without a tripod and remote trigger (which I have, but did not have with me in Disneyland). This is hand-held and steadied against a tree, if I remember correctly.

      March 16, 2010 at 8:50 pm