(mostly) daily photoblog

Walt, Mickey and Sleeping Beauty

I feel like I should work for Disney’s marketing branch.  These are the three icons from the main square in Disneyland.  Walt, Mickey, and Sleeping Beauty’s Castle.  I understand that from 2001 to 2008 Disneyland had shut the doors on the castle, but it’s up and touring now.

I got to this point in the park and felt like a six year old.  All of those Sunday nights watching The Wonderful World of Disney as a kid came washing over me.  I remember watching Dumbo and Alice in Wonderland and Bedknobs and Broomsticks and Mary Poppins.  At the beginning and end of the show, Tinkerbell would fly right over the castle here, wave her wand and the show would start (or end).  Aah, nostalgia.

Pentax K20D; Pentax DA 18-55mm AL II; f9; ISO 100; 1/250 sec.

6 responses

  1. Do you know that Tinkerbell flies from the castle at the Magic Kingdom in Florida every night at the beginning of Wishes, the fireworks show?

    March 13, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    • Yes, she does. That’s what the wires are that run from left to right above the castle. We saw her the first night we were in Disneyland, zipping back and forth up there. I couldn’t help but wonder what it would be like to fly back and forth up there.

      March 13, 2010 at 7:33 pm

  2. momromp

    I spent my Sundays the same way when I was a tot. Disneyland does a good job recapturing those days for me, too.

    March 13, 2010 at 7:14 pm

    • The funny thing is, I went through quite a phase of “anti-Disney” sentiments. I still have a problem with the mass marketing of every last thing that comes out of Disney HQ. I wasn’t expecting to have such warm fuzzies when I visited. I’m guessing a lot of that came from being there with my children and I spent most of my time seeing the park through their eyes. Thanks, Hannah and Ben.

      March 13, 2010 at 7:36 pm

      • I agree with you on the marketing of Disney. I am glad that you have overcome your distaste for Disney and that you admitted to it, lol.
        It is a great place to visit. And yes, thanks to Hannah and Ben !

        Keep the pictures and stories coming, I have turned a few people on to your blog…

        March 13, 2010 at 8:35 pm

      • Thanks for the referrals.

        March 13, 2010 at 9:01 pm