(mostly) daily photoblog

Stormtroopers

Disneyland has an attraction called “Jedi Training Academy.”  Both of my children were called up, along with a couple dozen more, to the stage, given Jedi robes and lightsabers and taught to fight like Jedi.

I liked this attraction.  Actually, I loved this attraction.  After the kids have been trained, the Imperial Death March starts up and two stormtroopers (above) run down the aisle and onto the stage.  The stage floor starts rising and Darths Vader and Maul jump out and duel with every one of the Jedi trainees.

I, overcome with emotion and joy, leaned over to my wife and quietly exclaimed, “I think I just peed myself a little.”

Pentax K20D; Pentax DA 18-55mm AL II; f5.6; ISO 100; 1/250 sec.

3 responses

  1. Jenn

    Funny, how we as the “big people”, probably had more fun than the kids, and although I can’t say I peed myself, I did have my moments. My boys had a fantastic time, but did it rival the experience my friend and I had riding in the front row of California Screaming, and/or of being serenaded by a Barber Shop Quartet? ( I may never be called “Sweet Jennifer” again so let me re-live that moment again…ahh. Wait, hubbie remembered to video the moment…ahh.). Or maybe we had more fun because our hotel have complimentary wine every evening. In any case, a fabulous first family holiday. Thanks for linking your site, great pics that evoke so many good times. So nice to meet the rest of your crew…
    Jenn

    March 12, 2010 at 9:40 pm

  2. momromp

    Good Lord. What is it with Star Wars? I have yet to see an entire Star Wars movie, much to my husband’s chagrin. My husband loved this post, by the way. I think you have another regular blog visitor.

    March 13, 2010 at 8:19 am

    • I have a small cadre (12 or so) students in my school who love Star Wars so we’ve started something of an impromptu movie club and we’re determined to watch all six movies before the end of the school year. I can’t explain why I love it so much. There’s something about the movies, the animated films, the spinoff series that just makes me smile. My obsession with Star Wars has extended to the strangest collection of “stuff” – my classroom has two Darth Vader heads mounted above my white board, and the students love it.

      March 13, 2010 at 9:51 am