(mostly) daily photoblog

Practice

Ben (my son) had his birthday party last weekend and we hosted a shindig at a local community center for Ben and ten of his closest friends.  While we were there, a lacrosse practice started in an adjacent room in the building.

What amazes me most is not that these kids give up part of their Saturdays to practice, but that one of them ends up in goal.  These poor little goalies, dressed head to shin guard in armor, have all of their teammates use them as target practice for about two hours.  That’s like asking for the firing squad, but knowing the bullets won’t kill you, only hurt like crazy.

Pentax K20D; Pentax DA 18-55mm AL II; f4.5; ISO 800; 1/60 sec.

2 responses

  1. cool, modern style scene

    February 27, 2010 at 1:15 am

  2. momromp

    Brilliant way to describe the role of goalie. I’ve always felt bad for kids who play goalie on their teams. I myself am not an athlete, but on the rare occasion I had to play goalie for soccer or field hockey in gym class, the score was usually 23-0…I was on the team that lost.

    March 5, 2010 at 6:23 pm