(mostly) daily photoblog

I’m a believer…

As I wandered around Vancouver’s downtown and waterfront area with 100,000 of my closest friends from all around the world, I couldn’t help but marvel at what the 2010 Olympics have accomplished.

Firstly, I was apologized to five times by people bumping into me in Robson Square, where thousands of people were wandering and bumping into each other and no apology was necessary.  I wonder if these are the most polite Winter Games in history.

Secondly, I heard thousands of fellow Canadians “ooh”-ing and “aah”-ing and cheering every time anything remotely athletic happened, including when someone would fly by on the giant zip-line set up in downtown Vancouver.

Thirdly, I heard complete strangers joining in victory when Canada scored and cry out in anguish as USA scored as we joined together to hope for a Men’s Hockey win.

I confess, I love these games.

btw, congratulations to Moir and Virtue – you were beautiful.

Pentax K20D; Pentax FA 28-200mm; f8; ISO 800; 1/30 sec.

2 responses

  1. Great photo! And I share your sentiment exactly… in spite of the few worldly naysayers that claim this to be the worst Winter Games ever. Indeed it is a beautiful time to be Canadian. And living in Vancouver.

    February 22, 2010 at 11:30 pm

  2. Mom

    Wow…all you needed to do was join the crowds and they changed your mind…I am glad that we are all funding this event and very proud to be Canadian….some countries just can’t accept the fact that we are SPECIAL!

    February 23, 2010 at 7:13 am