(mostly) daily photoblog

What did we do before lcd screens on cameras?

Jak Photo Walk 1I love this photo.  The person on the left took a photo of the two men.  After taking the photo, she showed them the photo and they all gathered around her LCD screen to look at the photo that had just been taken.

When I first started taking photographs, I learned with a Pentax K1000 film SLR.  There was no instant feedback.  In fact, if I didn’t shoot an entire roll of film in a day, it could be a week or longer before I knew whether I had taken any good photos.  Now that we have instant feedback, we take a photo and then check to see how it turned out and often decide immediately whether it is worth keeping.

An unintended side effect, however, is that we gather around our cameras to see how good, or not good, we looked in the photo.  Community built on LCD screens?  Maybe.

 

One response

  1. Well you can choose not to display the shot in the lcd … It saves battery also

    March 12, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,384 other followers