(mostly) daily photoblog

WordPress Photo Challenge: Resolved

graffiti masjid

I resolved to get to know my city a bit better.  I bought a motorcycle in the early days of December, and, now that it’s finally licensed, I’ve been driving it around my neighborhood.  I bought it so that I could get to and from work more easily, but it’s offered so much more than a commuter vehicle ever could.

Jakarta is an immeasurably large city.  There are five areas, as far as I can tell, that actually make up the city of Jakarta:  South (where I live), North, East, West, and Central.  Then there are all the other towns, villages, cities that have been absorbed by the greater Jakarta area.  On top of that, the council of people who plan out how the city develops seems to be non-existent.  Streets start and stop, lead to suicidal corners and dead-ends, narrow to daredevil dimensions.  If rhyme and reason play any part, they are a funeral dirge to the hopes of newcomers wishing to get to know their new city.

Add to all of that the “macet” (literally translated as “jammed” – referring to Jak’s horrible traffic), and buying a car was out of the question.  So I bought a motorcycle.  What’s great is that, in the three or four days of driving it around my neighborhood, I’ve already scouted a number of places I had no idea existed.

What you see above is an example of one of those places.  I particularly love the juxtaposition of the mosque and the graffiti.

8 responses

  1. Where do you keep your camera?

    January 5, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    • Small backpack with a t-shirt wrapped around it. I’m thinking about the Lowepro Fastpack 100…I used to have one that I loved.

      January 5, 2013 at 9:14 pm

      • I didn’t know how handy it was. I was just curious. Great pics, it looks like you live in a very interesting place.

        January 5, 2013 at 9:21 pm

      • Ha! You have no idea. This place is an amazing mix of contrasts.

        …and the shirt is wrapped around the camera. I re-read my response and that seemed unclear.

        January 5, 2013 at 9:23 pm

      • What kind of camera do you have now. like the one in your header?

        January 5, 2013 at 9:25 pm

      • No. I still have my Pentax K1000, but it’s back in Canada in storage. I shoot with a Pentax K20D. I’ve got five lenses with me here, ranging from 18mm up to 300mm. I left a few lenses back home, figuring they overlapped each other, but I miss one of them quite badly.

        January 5, 2013 at 9:36 pm

      • No drive by shooting for you!

        January 5, 2013 at 9:37 pm

  2. Pingback: WordPress Photo Challenge: Resolved « Best WordPress Theme

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers