(mostly) daily photoblog

Up for the challenge

Our move to Jakarta from Chilliwack, British Columbia, Canada, was in large part due to a desire to show my children the world.  There are moments, however, when I think that I was crazy to take my daughter (above) from the relative ease and comfort of North America and transplant her in a city like Jakarta.

I attended a formal dinner hosted by the Australian Embassy last night and was asked by some of the people at my table if I had lived in any other Asian cities before.  When I answered, “No”, their reply was one of shock.  When I asked why they were so shocked, they told me that if moving to an Asian city is like learning to ride a bike, then Singapore is the easy bike with training wheels, and Jakarta is like trying to learn to ride a bike by starting with a unicycle.

I guess I like a challenge, and I want that for my daughter.  I want her to grow up knowing what the world is like, that there are challenges.  What’s important is that we meet those challenges; sometimes we will fail, and sometimes we will triumph, but we will never avoid.

I hope I made the right move.

4 responses

  1. Good luck and having lived and worked five countries spread over three continents all I can say the most valuable experience is to learn how to adapt, accommodate and accept.

    October 11, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    • darthbergen

      Amen.

      October 11, 2012 at 11:10 pm

  2. Don’t second guess yourself…..you and Hilary made the right move….it is only 3.5 months…give her some time….she will thank you for the experience down the road….just keep encouraging her….

    October 11, 2012 at 9:17 pm

  3. I’m sure she will appreciate it in years to come, life experience like this is something you can never look back on negatively

    October 12, 2012 at 7:42 am

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers