(mostly) daily photoblog

A juxtaposition of religion

This is a Catholic church that is in Jakarta, directly across the street from the Masjid Istiqlal (the mosque from my photo a few days ago).  Before moving here, I was given the impression that there was tension between Islam and Christianity in Jakarta, but I’ve not found that yet.  There seems, from the people with whom I’ve spoken, to be a mutual respect.

Also, is it just me, or is the ceiling a little tribute to Darth Vader?  I am a huge fan of all things Star Wars, and sometimes I think I see Star Wars everywhere, but the ceiling really does look a little Vader-ish, right?

5 responses

  1. Dunno about Star Wars but it surely is a magnificent piece of architecture.

    August 28, 2012 at 8:26 pm

  2. It gives “I am your Father ” a whole new meaning. Miss you and yours !

    August 28, 2012 at 10:06 pm

  3. thats awesome haha.. great perspective as well

    August 29, 2012 at 10:11 am

  4. elmediat

    I feel a disturbance in the force. :)

    September 1, 2012 at 9:38 am

    • Hahaha! Awesome. Me too.

      September 1, 2012 at 10:41 am

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,384 other followers