(mostly) daily photoblog

Awesome Day!

Today was an awesome day.  I was in awe quite a number of times.  My friends Ian and Karl put together an adventurous day of places to visit and things to learn.  Here’s a few of the highlights:

1.  The Jakarta Port (the area in which boats are moored that move cargo around the islands of Jakarta).

2.  Old Batavia/Jakarta Kota Tua (the old city, built largely by the Dutch).

3.  Gereja Katedral Jakarta (a Roman Catholic church built over 100 years ago).

4.  The Wayang Museum (wayang are the shadow puppets that are an iconic Indonesia art and drama form).

5.  The Misjad Istiqlal (a mosque that holds 200000 worshippers).

I was really excited to get to see all of these places.  If I had to be honest, the Istiqlal Mosque was the place I was most looking forward to seeing, and I didn’t even know we were going to see it until halfway through the day.  A totally amazing surprise.  The place is massive.

The photo above doesn’t do it any justice at all, but I hope that it conveys some of the wonder that I felt standing in that huge place of worship.  I should probably point out that the words in Arabic that surround the dome are a prayer that Muslims pray daily (according to our guide).  Oh, and the dome you see above is 45 meters in diameter (that’s about 150 feet for my American friends).

4 responses

  1. mein27

    and in last Idul Fitri this masjid was so full until its 5th floor.. nice picture.
    i took few pictures also before but not as nice as yours. :D

    August 23, 2012 at 9:06 pm

    • Thanks. I’m always worried about handling religious matters carefully, but I had great help from Saiful, my guide.

      August 23, 2012 at 9:17 pm

  2. did you like the wayang museum? My daughter and I loved going there last time we were in Jakarta.

    August 24, 2012 at 10:13 am

    • It was great. I bought Rama and Sita and brought them home. The whole thing, the museum and the guide, was so interesting and beautiful.

      August 24, 2012 at 10:23 am

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,385 other followers