(mostly) daily photoblog

Hmm…flower.

I’m stuck not knowing how to react to the city in which I live.  I walk, daily, past people who subsist on very little.  They live on 1 000 000 Rupiah (that’s $100 US approximately) a month, sometimes less, sometimes more.  I walk past open sewers that are sometimes smelly and sometimes revolting.  I walk past mansions that exist next to shacks.  Mercedes driving past men pulling home-made carts.

What does all of this have to do with a flower?  There are no parks but lots and lots of green.  There is asphalt and trees, and because it’s always summer (or seemingly) the blossoms on trees and vines bloom and die all the time.  I’ve been here a month and I’d almost gotten used to it.  Leaves fall off trees all the time, but it’s never Autumn.  I wonder if I’ll get used to all of it.  I hope not.  I hope that I’ll always be shocked, saddened, enraged, curious, and hopeful.

6 responses

  1. it’s sounds all very bittersweet

    August 14, 2012 at 10:24 am

    • It is. It’s weird, for me, to be in a place where my perspective is constantly undermined. I love it, though, as it pushes me to think more clearly, to elucidate my thought process.

      August 14, 2012 at 10:27 am

  2. Don’t allow yourself to be desensitized. That would surely change you, and not in a good way.
    I don’t know if I’d have the courage to walk, as you do, every day. I would cry all the time, for the rich and the poor. Shame and sadness.

    August 14, 2012 at 12:48 pm

    • I think that it would be easy to be desensitized to it – it’s easy to think that they’re happy, so why bother to look, comment, or try to change their circumstances. I think that we have to choose to see the world in front of us. Knowledge and wisdom is intentional…ignorance is often laziness.

      I don’t have the means to help every one of them, but, by God’s grace, I can show them love and compassion and bring their situation to the attention of others.

      By a trick of the universe, I was born to my family and my country (Canada). They were born here. It is a privilege to live here and witness this and have this transformative experience. We don’t have a choice about many things, but our attitude is all ours to choose.

      August 14, 2012 at 2:41 pm

      • You call it a “trick of the universe,” and I’ve often said that our circumstances and religion are “an accident of birth.” ‘Tis a privilege and you have evolved as a human being to know it.

        August 14, 2012 at 10:26 pm

      • Thank you. Jesus has had some influence on me.

        August 15, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,384 other followers