(mostly) daily photoblog

Religion or electricity: who has more power?

Electricity is power.  Without it, we’d have no lights, televisions, movies, lcd projectors, cameras, computers, internet, cell phones, iPods, cars…um…the list goes on in a long, long mile.

(Please feel free to send me comments about how things like these can run in some manual, un-powered way.  I know.  My Pentax K1000 is completely manual, but still relies on a battery for the light meter and a whole crap-load of power to convert the film into photos, as an example.)

Religion, however, has started wars and brought peace.  It has ended lives by transporting the dying into another realm, while started lives through dedications and christenings.  It has started and ended civilizations.  It has inspired creation and destruction.

I know which one I think is more powerful.  What about you?

3 responses

  1. That’s an interesting question. Without power the developed world would cease to function, and life as we know it would collapse. Religion persists with or without electrical power so I guess that wins. The churches would be cold though.

    February 27, 2012 at 12:44 pm

  2. I will take christianity….

    February 27, 2012 at 4:27 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers