(mostly) daily photoblog

Photo Friday: Pristine

My entire world has just drastically changed, literally speaking.  The snow that has shut down my city for the last four days just turned to freezing rain.  The temperature in the clouds is warm enough to be raining, but the temperature on the ground is four degrees below zero. What that means is that everything is coated in a thick layer of ice.  I snapped this in my driveway because I liked the way the light was playing off the ice coating my car.  Also because I have no desire to drive anywhere until the temperature heads north of zero.

What is beautiful, however, is how the entire visible world outside my window has this unbroken, unsullied, pristine shininess.  So shiny…

4 responses

  1. Kevin Alexander

    That lighting looks great. Sorry about the ice.

    January 21, 2012 at 12:59 pm

    • It’s alright. The wind and temperature both went up last night and we’re sitting near zero, but definitely on the plus side, so there’s no ice anymore anywhere. It’s weird how quickly disaster is averted. As for the lighting, I’m a “available light” photographer. I’ve yet to take a good photo with a flash. I really try to avoid them, so I’ll play with aperture, ISO, shutter speed until I don’t have to use the flash.

      Thanks for the support.

      January 21, 2012 at 1:12 pm

  2. I hate ice. We had an ice storm here years ago that shut down the city for a week, and took a year to clean up after. It was like a bomb went off everywhere.

    As for the flash thing, I’m like you–no good with it. Sometimes I have to use it though if I don’t want blurry photos of kids.

    January 21, 2012 at 3:40 pm

  3. Simply great, love it !

    January 22, 2012 at 4:53 am

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers