(mostly) daily photoblog

Photo Friday: Depth Perception

The problem in photography, the main one I encountered when I started out, was the depth of field issue.  Depth of field refers to the part of the photo that is sharply in focus and how much of the photo is within that field.  Aperture plays an incredibly important role in this, in that if the number is lower (f2.8 vs. f22) less of the photo will be in sharp focus.  If you play with aperture, you’ll get those lovely shots wherein the subject is in focus while the background (and foreground, depending on the photo) will be out of focus. It creates some lovely effects, creating depth within a two dimensional medium.  If you push your aperture as high up as it will go, you’ll get superior depth of focus, in that everything will be in sharp detail, but it will flatten out the image.  It’s interesting how a photo can look like it has less depth by being entirely in focus, while a photo with a small space in focus will look like it has more depth.

Anyway, here’s a photo of Giotto’s Campanile in Florence that demonstrates what happens to a photo at f3.5 at 18mm.  Some is in focus, some is not.

4 responses

  1. You take such amazing photos.

    December 12, 2011 at 6:14 am

    • Thanks. Sometimes it’s just about being in the right place at the right time. I’d like to think that I’ve trained myself to notice things that others often overlook, but I’m also willing to put myself in weird places to get the photo I want.

      December 12, 2011 at 8:27 am

  2. Great capture. Can you share the lens details?

    December 12, 2011 at 11:44 am

    • I believe it was my kit lens: Pentax DA 18-55mm shot at 18mm at f3.5

      I was using a fisheye attachment on this trip that modified the 18 mm by .42, so it would have been around 12mm. That said,I don’t see all that many tell-tale signs that it was used in this photo. It probably is just shot at 18 mm from a good distance away.

      December 12, 2011 at 2:52 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,384 other followers