(mostly) daily photoblog

Strongly built: Rugged

I found this while out on a run this morning.  There’s this run-down, old gas station situated next to a pub.  Somehow, people who were drinking did not gas for their vehicles, so the gas station went out of business.

I particularly liked this gas pump, mostly because the face has been taken off to expose the inner workings.  They look like they might last forever.  Very strongly built.  I can’t imagine that the new pumps look anything like this inside.  I think it would look a lot more like circuit boards and wiring than it would look like the metal machinery of the pump pictured above.

I went for this definition of “Rugged” for this week’s Photo Friday Challenge.

5 responses

  1. Those were the days when you can’t tell a gas pump from a jukebox

    November 26, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    • You’re so right. This thing looked old, but I remember using these, so they can’t be too old, right?

      November 26, 2011 at 11:22 pm

      • I think those things existed during the late 70’s to the late 80’s

        November 27, 2011 at 3:15 am

  2. Looks rather apocalyptic doesn’t it?
    MJ

    November 27, 2011 at 8:02 am

    • I never thought of that. It looks like a prop from a “Resident Evil” movie. Maybe a video game like “Half-Life”. Good call.

      November 27, 2011 at 8:07 am

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,383 other followers