(mostly) daily photoblog

One: Photo Friday Challenge

Why is it that a photograph of one person immediately draws to mind the song “One is a lonely number”?  I only ask because my first inclination with this photo was to give it that title.  My wife, son and I went for a walk a couple of days ago and Ben decided that he’d had enough walking so he sat down on this dock.  Despite knowing that there were three of us on this walk, and that this is not a photo of some lost boy on a dock, my feeling was one of loneliness.

Maybe it’s his posture.  Maybe it’s the coolness of black and white.  Maybe it’s a psychological projection on my part to believe that when one is alone, one must be lonely.  But there doesn’t have to exist that connotation, does there?  Alone, oneness, does not have to be lonely.

7 responses

  1. This is a lovely shot.

    November 12, 2011 at 11:35 am

  2. thumbs up on the last statement =)

    November 12, 2011 at 3:08 pm

  3. lovely composition

    November 12, 2011 at 11:52 pm

  4. Great shot !!! I was wondering how the colored version of this one will look.

    November 13, 2011 at 7:03 am

    • Actually, not as good as you’d think. I shot it in RAW+, so I get all the information from the RAW file, but I set the jpeg review on the LCD in black and white. I was shooting for a specific effect and I think I got it, but the RAW file? While I could have edited it to make it work in color, it really did look better in b&w.

      I shot most of the other photos with a color preview, but I like to shoot photos of people, candids or otherwise, in b&w.

      November 13, 2011 at 9:02 am

      • Great look, I think b&w works better on people too, something I need to do more often. Thanks for the inspiration.

        November 13, 2011 at 2:14 pm

  5. is a wonderful snap.. and love the beauty of B&W photos.. Totally agree that being alone does not mean lonely..

    November 13, 2011 at 6:37 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,384 other followers