(mostly) daily photoblog

The path to photographic adventure

I’ve had people ask me where I shoot some of my graffiti photos.  I shot the six photos above on the way in (the first three) and on the way out (the last three) as I headed back to the car.

Often, when I describe it, people ask me, “You really go down there?” and, “Isn’t it a little sketchy?” and, “How did you find it?”

Let me answer these questions.

1.  Yes.  I really do go down there.  I’ve never felt completely unsafe, but I do leave my wallet in the car and carry my Blackberry with me.

2.  Yes.  It is a little sketchy.  I once came upon a homeless “campsite”.  I felt like I had just walked into someone’s bedroom.  It was weird.  I was trespassing on BC Rail land, but I felt like I had violated some person’s home.  Weird.

3.  I found it by living near it.  The house in which I used to live was a couple of kilometers away, so I used to drive past this stretch of railway underpass.  One day I noticed a large, colorful piece of street art.  I found a nearby place to park and took a walk through the area.  What I discovered was a street art paradise.  So cool.  I had driven past it hundreds of times, but had never really looked closely.  Now I go down there once a month.  It’s like documenting a living, ever-changing art exhibit.

BTW, more graffiti tomorrow.

Also, I know you call two photos together a diptych, and three are a triptych, but six?  Is it a sestych?  sextych?  I don’t know, but I hope you like it.

2 responses

  1. Interesting look at the process behind your art. Just love the surprises you can find right under your nose when you take a left turn from normal !
    And If it’s not a “sextych”, it should be – I love the term, I will use it from now on.

    October 6, 2011 at 4:47 pm

    • Thanks. I hadn’t thought of myself as a coiner of words, but maybe I should add that to my resume.

      October 7, 2011 at 12:41 am

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers