(mostly) daily photoblog

Photo Friday: Street Art Spirit Raccoon

This is one of my favorite pieces of street art.  It’s some kind of “anti-consumerist” comment that I’m not even sure I understand, but I don’t know that exact comprehension is important when it comes to art.

This piece might be about the consumption of native art and the fact that the real meaning of aboriginal painting is lost when it’s purchased by ignorant people.  Maybe it’s about aboriginal artists no longer making their art for community and are now making it for the highest bidder.  Maybe it’s about raccoons holding people hostage by sitting on their heads.  I don’t know.

What I do know?  It looks cool.

Photo Friday’s challenge this week is Animal.   Spirit raccoon seemed to fit.

One response

  1. i like it, it’s very detailed & the colours are nicely blended

    October 2, 2011 at 8:35 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers