(mostly) daily photoblog

The ’57 Olds…beautiful.

This is beauty in car form.  This is the headlight of a 1957 Oldsmobile car.  It makes me smile.  The little rocket ships above the headlight on the fender make me smile even more.  I’m sure that some salesman back in 1957 used the line that these little babies make the car more aerodynamic, but I’m also sure they do nothing but look cool.

I bought my car in 2004.  As I drove it home, I thought I saw many other drivers driving the same car as I had just purchased.  It turned out that they all looked the same, but were made by other manufacturers.  They were all grey and boxy.  No curves.  No sex appeal.

The ’57 Olds?  Tons of sexiness.  The fenders.  The chrome.  The curve of the bumper.  The people who designed this car wanted Marilyn Monroe in car form:  lots of curves and big…uh… headlights.  I think they succeeded.

6 responses

  1. elmediat

    Beautiful composition. The B&W puts emphasis on the line & form. Well done.

    August 13, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    • Thanks. It’s what I was shooting for.

      August 13, 2011 at 10:32 pm

  2. I love what you wrote about the car’s curves. Definitely more beautiful than the sport cars we see these days.

    August 14, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    • It’s what I see whenever I see old cars. My dad was always taking me to “’50′s car cruising nights” and hot rod shows and I fell in love with those cars. Not the hot rods, per se, but the old cars. I could never afford to own one, nor drive one what with gas prices the way they are, but I love them nonetheless.

      August 14, 2011 at 9:21 pm

  3. Steve

    I own a 57 Olds 88 sedan and you completely captured why I love this car!

    August 15, 2011 at 2:41 pm

    • That’s awesome. Thanks. I love those cars too. My grandpa was always a Chrysler guy (New Yorker for as long as I can remember), but I loved those little rockets on the fenders of the Oldsmobiles.

      August 15, 2011 at 7:52 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,384 other followers