(mostly) daily photoblog

Sunsets are always nice

I learned something about how my photographic habits have changed since switching from film to digital.  I took my Pentax K1000 with me to Oregon and snapped off a roll and a half.  I took my film camera up onto the dune and down onto the beach and snapped off some lovely photos.  And then there was this sad moment…

I snapped off my first photo and felt the familiar “chunk” of the camera’s mirror snapping back in place and then I pulled the camera from my eye and looked at the back of it to see how the photo turned out.  On the LCD screen.  That doesn’t exist on the back of the camera that was produced in 1976.  Hmm…that was an unforeseen stupidity on my part.  I chastised myself for having become reliant on technology to tell me that my photo was good.

I snapped another photo and once again looked at the back of the camera.  Twice stupid.  Yeesh…

Another photo.  Another look.  Oh, for crying out loud.

Over the next few days I snapped off the rest of the roll and must have looked at the back of the camera at least ten more times.

Oh.  The photo above was snapped on one of the evenings on my K1000.  Nice sunset, I think.  And below, that’s what I kept looking at expecting to see an LCD screen. Ha.

4 responses

  1. I know it might be heresy but I like the comfort of knowing every once in a while that I am ok and the pic is ok…. and the world moves on :-)

    August 9, 2011 at 8:49 pm

    • Oh, I don’t have a problem with checking to see the “right-ness” of my photo. I just found it amusing that I kept looking down at my old camera expecting to see an LCD screen.

      August 9, 2011 at 9:03 pm

  2. i found the first few snaps i took with film, i also looked at the back of the camera to check the photo.. it’s a habit

    since shooting my second roll of film, i havent even been checking my digital photos in camera.. i ‘ve been trying to make sure my settings are accurate
    it’s a nice change

    beautiful photo nonetheless x

    August 10, 2011 at 7:31 pm

    • Thanks. I will keep shooting film, now that I’ve fired off a roll. I really like the way in which I was shooting – lots of preparation and good shots. It’ll be interesting to see how my next roll turns out.

      August 10, 2011 at 9:09 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,384 other followers