(mostly) daily photoblog

Haystack on the seashore: Photo Friday

Photo Friday’s challenge today is “Seashore“.

The family B went to the Oregon Coast last summer and we made the obligatory stop in Cannon Beach.  If you’ve ever gone to Cannon Beach, or seen the movie “Goonies“, you’ll recognize Haystack Rock.  It’s an incredible geological phenomenon.  It’s more incredible to stand in its shadow.  If you’ve never been to Cannon Beach, or anywhere on the Oregon Coast, go.  Go now!

 

 

5 responses

  1. Great photo. Also, love your header! My first and favorite camera was a Pentax Spotmatic K1000. Still have it, still love it, never use it anymore. What a pity.

    July 15, 2011 at 9:07 am

    • Well, you’ve got to break that Spotmatic out and use it. I think I’ll take mine along this weekend and snap some rolls of film, just to see if I can still do it.

      July 15, 2011 at 10:49 am

  2. elmediat

    Excellent composition. Maybe it is my inclination towards fantasy and the phantasmagorical , but is that no a dragon I see before me ? The small elongated rock on the left is the head – two ears, bumpy eye, horn on snout, and protruding lower lip. Haystack lump is main body. Small pointed rock on right is tip of a tail.

    July 16, 2011 at 4:56 pm

    • Wow. I didn’t see that. You have a heck of an imagination.

      July 16, 2011 at 6:29 pm

  3. Kerry

    Love the picture, LOVE Cannon Beach and hadn’t ever “seen” the dragon till I read the comment…now that’s all I see! Very cool!

    July 20, 2011 at 7:19 am

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,383 other followers