(mostly) daily photoblog

Forgive us our trespasses…

…as we forgive those who trespass against us.  Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.

Boy, are those words ingrained in my head.  When I was a kid, we used to say the Lord’s Prayer in school every morning.  We had to recite it in the King James Version as well, so Shakespeare came quite easily to me (thanks, King James).  As I said yesterday, repetition holds importance for me, so I’ve had this locked away in the back of my brain since a very young age.  When I said it 180 times a year, for the first five years of school, it stuck in my memory.

So when I trespassed on BC Rail property on Monday afternoon, this phrase came ringing to the forefront of my consciousness.  I had already crossed one set of tracks, then a makeshift bridge over a small creek, but as I gained ground I was met with this at eye-level.  NO TRESPASSING.  The Lord’s Prayer rang through, but then another thought jumped in right afterward.  Someone had to paint that on the rail.  It was someone’s job to get down on hands and knees and spray-paint that message right there, where hundreds, maybe thousands, of people have walked.  I believe that it’s the railway company’s way of saying that, “If you get hit by a train here, we tried to warn you.”

Still, that still, small voice in my conscience, the one born of repetition of a King James phrased memorization regimen, spoke to me.

 

 

 

5 responses

  1. Interesting find. I never saw that on a set of tracks before. I guess some things will always stick to memory, at least this is a good one to remember.

    June 15, 2011 at 8:10 pm

    • Although, I’ve already broken this little rule a number of times.

      June 15, 2011 at 10:10 pm

  2. Am fairly new at blogging, and could not find a “Like” button – even though I would normally not just like something without leaving a comment. In any event, consider this one “Liked”. Thanks for sharing.

    June 17, 2011 at 4:34 pm

  3. and of course, now I found the ‘Like’ button, too….

    June 17, 2011 at 4:35 pm

  4. elmediat

    Actually a confusion of Anglais and French. It should read, No ? Très passing. Which means “Lots of people and trains pass by here, do they not ?”
    Great use of perspective in the composition.

    June 19, 2011 at 11:14 am

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,385 other followers