(mostly) daily photoblog

Too many travelers.

I avoided the highway today.  Too many travelers in the way for me, the petty commuter.

It was the beginning of the long weekend here, the Victoria Day long weekend.  It’s named for Queen Victoria, by the way, but I’m not much of a royalist so I can’t tell you much more about it.

As for what it means around here?  It means that thousands, tens of thousands, of people all decide to be outdoorsy all on the same weekend.  It marks the opening of the campground season and boating season and, well, traffic season.  The weather was beautiful, the sun was out, the cars were on the road.  And so begins the smoggy, hazy, traffic-filled summer.  Yay!

6 responses

  1. Too bad there’s only one way outta Dodge!

    May 20, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    • Yeah, I know. At least I know the back roads.

      May 20, 2011 at 10:21 pm

  2. SWK

    Can’t tell you how much I hate traffic! sigh.

    May 21, 2011 at 7:25 am

    • I could tell you, but my language would be inappropriate. The photographer in me enjoys the back roads and gives me multiple options to get home. Plus, we have parallel roads on both the north and south sides of the highway, so I don’t have to engage the traffic if I don’t want to.

      May 21, 2011 at 9:14 am

  3. I guess it´s the same problem everywhere, with long weekends!!!

    May 21, 2011 at 1:34 pm

  4. elmediat

    We sayed home and enjoyed the yard (work ?). At least the BBQ was working well.
    Somehow the tone of the black & white shot makes me think of the 1960’s. I’m getting old(er).

    May 27, 2011 at 9:20 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers