(mostly) daily photoblog

When “Photo Friday” and the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge collide

Just over this dune is the Pacific Ocean.  It’s beautiful on the Oregon Coast.  I kind of wish I was there.

As Spring Break comes to a close, I’ve been thinking ahead to summer holidays (sad, huh?) and that we’re heading to Nehalem Bay in Oregon again.  Add to that the fact that Photo Friday and WordPress’ own Weekly Photo Challenge this week is ocean, I though it would be fitting to post a photo from last year’s summer trip.  It covers both mother nature and the ocean.

 

8 responses

  1. Rachel

    I LOVE that picture. I love dunes, sea grass, ocean…..ahhhh! I wish we were going to the ocean this summer. I am definitely going to make sure we get a seaside vacation one day.
    Do you camp or hotel or????

    March 25, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    • The ocean is awesome. We camp or, this year, yurt. Oregon State parks have amazing camp sites – every site is next to another, but you never feel like you’re stacked one on top of the other. And then they have yurts – they book up quickly (nine months in advance) but they require less packing and have heaters (the selling point for my wife).

      Plus, the cost is negligible in comparison to renting a hotel room or cabin in Cannon Beach. We went to Nehalem State Park, near Manzanita, OR. It’s about 20 minutes south of Cannon Beach. The views are worth the seven hour drive. Check out my blog back at the beginning of August – there’s a bunch of photos from our trip last summer.

      March 25, 2011 at 10:30 pm

  2. SWK

    Ahhh… I miss the ocean. And summer.

    March 25, 2011 at 8:10 pm

  3. Wow.. nice;
    we don’t really see the ocean actually, but perhaps the sand tells it

    March 26, 2011 at 2:10 am

    • I think that some of my best photos are ones in which the “subject” is merely hinted at, rather than explicitly seen.

      Thanks.

      March 26, 2011 at 7:18 am

  4. Outstanding!

    March 26, 2011 at 5:24 am

  5. smcricepix

    I Love the Or. Coast… There are so many pix to be had. i would love some help on setting up a website for all of my pix, then i will be able to share with all of you. This is a dream job for me to take wonderful pix for you and myself too. thank you for sharing your pict. of the coast, I can’t wait to make a trip there very soon. smcricepix

    March 26, 2011 at 1:11 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,383 other followers