(mostly) daily photoblog

Do you think it’s someone’s job to polish the ceiling of the Skytrain?

Seriously.  I actually wonder this.

Those of you who have read this blog for a while may have seen a similar photo about a year ago, during the Winter Olympics.  I have always been impressed by the cleanliness of the ceiling in the Skytrain.  So, I wonder if there is someone whose job it is to clean that thing, because it always gleams and reflects so nicely.  Maybe they just steam-clean the whole thing at the end of each run.

I wonder this because I think fewer people would want to ride the train if, when they boarded, there was gunk and gum and unidentifiable, mucus looking stuff all over the ceiling of the train.  On the other hand, maybe I’m tall enough to notice, but no one else notices these things.

Now that I think about it, the train is really clean in general.  I’ve never noticed any graffiti in any of the cars.  The worst “offense” is some culturejammer who keeps leaving well-written, neatly copied questions on stickers and attaching them to the advertisements in each of the train cars.  Who are these unsung heroes of public transportation who keep everything so clean?

4 responses

  1. Now there is an observation I haven’t noticed before, but you have the camera’s eye so that accounts for something to take note of and to talk about. Great perspective here.

    March 18, 2011 at 8:39 pm

    • A little tip here, from one photog to another: turn the camera upside down and hold it against the ceiling of the train. The camera turns the image around and you get a steady base on which to take the photo. It also shows you a part of the world you wouldn’t otherwise see.

      March 18, 2011 at 9:47 pm

  2. I guess that that train has a very good maintenance service. When I look at the trains I take every day, I ask myself, why aren´t they doing their job? because it´s all so dirty and I know (because I work for a transport company) that people get paid to do that job but they don´t.
    Maybe we notice because we are always looking at things people simply ignore? I have a page with pictures of my city, my very friends say “hey, where is that?” and maybe it´s round the corner, they pass by every day, but didn´t notice it.

    March 19, 2011 at 8:02 am

    • As a photographer, I feel like it’s my job to see the things that others don’t.

      March 19, 2011 at 7:40 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers