(mostly) daily photoblog

Stop, in the name of snow.

I don’t often shoot in the high aperture range.  I think it flattens out a photo.  Today’s photo was shot at f16 entirely to show the mountain in the background in some detail.  If you shoot manually at all, try playing with the aperture on your camera.  If you want shallow depth of field, shoot with as low a number as you can.  If you want everything in detail, shoot with a higher number.

Oh, and this is why I was whining about the snow.  Snow?  In February in the Lower Mainland?  Really?  Ha ha, global warming.  You got us again.

4 responses

  1. Interesting photo with the colorful signs to add some contrast to your winter white. At least you have some mountains in your background, we are flatland.

    February 27, 2011 at 10:14 pm

    • Yes, the mountains are nice. I find myself feeding the stereotype of what BC is like when I meet people from everywhere else in North America. When most people think BC they think Whistler, but the truth is that I live about half a kilometer from three different mountains and a river.

      February 28, 2011 at 5:24 am

  2. Beautiful mountains :)

    February 28, 2011 at 7:42 am

    • Thanks. We like’em.

      February 28, 2011 at 12:04 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,384 other followers