(mostly) daily photoblog

Canada Dry and saltines…someone must have the stomach flu.

I don’t know what happens around your house when someone gets sick, but when anyone in my house gets the stomach flu (and this time it’s my daughter), we make sure we have plenty of Canada Dry Ginger Ale and saltine crackers on hand.  It’s weird, because if I was ever offered ginger ale and saltines at a party I would immediately be transported back in time to the many times I’ve had stomach flu.  And what would that look like, you ask?  Let me tell you.

Firstly, I make sure that I pull out the sleeping bag and move it to the couch.  Preferably the couch in the basement, because it has the creaky springs and grooves where my back fits.  Secondly, I make sure there’s plenty of ginger ale (has to be Canada Dry) and saltines around.  Thirdly, the sad vomit bucket has to be nearby.  Fourthly, the path to the bathroom has to be cleared.  And, lastly, the t.v. has to be set to something inane and insipid.  I now have satellite t.v. and three hundred channels of insipid to choose from, but when I was younger, I would watch whatever came on.

That meant that I got to catch up on how Bert and Ernie were doing.  I got to see if Oscar was still grouchy and whether anyone had seen Snuffleupagus yet.  At the same time, and I loathe to admit this, I would catch up on soap operas like General Hospital and One Life to Live.  I guess I was a closet soap fan, but only in between bouts of barfing.

A little educational t.v.  A little trashy t.v.  And a little ginger ale and saltines on the couch.  The recipe for getting well.

One response

  1. That was the combo that gave away all three of my pregnancies while I was combatting nausea at work!!!

    February 20, 2011 at 7:38 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,383 other followers