(mostly) daily photoblog

For Service Call

Okay, so this is not the best photo I’ve taken.  You can barely see the front wheel.  It is, however, the truck that excites my imagination.  When I was a kid, I would see trucks that had the crane arm and the man-bucket (I don’t know what it’s really called – that’s what I used to call it) on the end and wish that I could climb in there.  I don’t know what I thought I’d see, but it seemed cool that a man could drive the truck, then climb inside the bucket and control the arm and make himself go way up high.

I know.  Kind of geeky.  But I bet there’s a thing from your childhood that you wish you could have used, and even now when you see that thing it takes you back to your imaginative days, your childhood days.

So, what’s the thing that excites your imagination?

7 responses

  1. Karina

    Am I the only one that thinks it looks like it’s a service truck with a flat tire? Now that’s handy. The man-bucket is a cool thing. Maybe if it wasn’t so clearly a man-bucket I would have been more inclined to dream about it as a kid. I was more inclined to wish I was a princess or something.

    February 15, 2011 at 8:24 pm

  2. The tire is in a low spot. But what kinds of things trigger that longing? Disney castles?

    February 15, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    • Karina

      No, not Disney castles. I am sure it had something to do with growing up in the era of Lady Diana and Sarah Ferguson and all that. I distinctly remember writing a piece in grade 3 in response to “what I want to be when I grow up”. I said I wanted to be a Queen. And Mr. Elliot, Lord love him, very directly pointed out that my career path was wrong because Canada was not a monarchy so I could never be queen. Thanks. I was 8. I am sure I would have figured it out – do you think he quoted the statistical probability to every 8 year old boy that NONE of them would join NASA – I think not. It’s an unfair world, but clearly, I’ve gotten over it.

      February 17, 2011 at 9:27 pm

      • Actually, he probably did quote the statistics about the likelihood of that kid getting into NASA. I find that if a teacher is willing to be a “reality check” to one kid, they’re willing to be that to everyone. Sadly, it probably extends into their “real” life too.

        On the castle thing, that’s so cute. Seriously, I thought, “awww…”

        February 17, 2011 at 9:31 pm

  3. I used to think if I climbed on my neighbor’s roof I could see the ocean. I live in Indiana. =-/

    haha.

    February 15, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    • That’s awesome.

      February 16, 2011 at 6:41 am

  4. ok…so I have always wanted to drive a semi….must be the not having any brothers!
    Here the semi drivers are miracle drivers evading buses in your lane or passing you up hill on a double solid line….will have to learn how to drive again when I return!
    PS…I remember the “look mom a truck….”

    February 16, 2011 at 1:18 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers