(mostly) daily photoblog

Let me shed some light (on bad puns)

I’ve noticed a horrifying trend in my life:  the older I get, the more I use puns in everyday conversation.  This worries me.  If it were just a fad, a short-lived obsession that ends nearly as quickly as it began, I wouldn’t worry.  The fact that, over the last few years, this fad has grown into a full-blown trend has made me think I might become a stereotypical “Dad.”

The title of this photo, taken from the upper level walkway between the W.A.C. Bennett Library and the West Mall at SFU looking toward Burnaby, is just a minor indication of the problem.  A symptom, as it were.  I’ve begun making the same jokes my father does.  If there’s an obvious pun, I have to use it.  No, I need to say it.  I used to think it was just my overflowing wit, a cleverness that could not be contained.

Now that I think about it, it began when my daughter was born and worsened after my son was born.  Is it a condition that all fathers suffer from?  Is it the universe’s way of making sure that all fathers embarrass their kids whenever they can?

Is there a cure?

2 responses

  1. That Wes guy

    Some puns are not that bad; in fact, Jesus himself used them all the time when he spoke to the people. It can be a sign of intelligence: just don’t draw any attention to the pun and keep on going. Just like the guy who submitted 10 puns hoping they’d get published. Sadly, no pun in ten did…

    February 12, 2011 at 5:53 pm

    • I think the hardest part is the “don’t draw any attention and keep going.” I’ve never been very good at that. I’m much more the Tommy Smothers than the Dick.

      February 12, 2011 at 5:57 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,384 other followers