(mostly) daily photoblog

Slightly creepy…but aren’t you curious?

I’m away from my family tonight.  I am marking exams in Burnaby, so I’m staying in a hotel in Coquitlam (if you check out Google Earth you’ll see that this makes sense) for three nights because I was up at 5:00 this morning to get to Simon Fraser University by 7:30 so that I could mark exams and that’s too ridiculous to do for four days straight.  But I miss my family…

…so I’m spying on other families.  No.  I’m not.

Actually, I took this photo because my wife is a people watcher.  Not in the “let’s go get the binoculars, I think the neighbors are up to something” kind of people watching.  More the “sit on a bench in the mall and watch people walk by” kind.  So when I looked out my 10th floor hotel room window and found an apartment building, I thought I’d snap a couple of shots for her.

But here’s the thing.  I’m actually kind of curious about what’s going on over there.  And if you’re truly honest with yourself, you are kind of curious, too.  In fact, some of you would probably periodically check up on your neighbors if you had this kind of vantage point.  Is curiosity creepy?  There was a time, not so long ago, when everyone knew who their neighbors were.  You were greeted when you moved into an apartment building or a neighborhood, and you did the same for other new people.  You wanted to know who they were.  Now…not so much.  And yet, you’re probably reading this because you read about it when it was posted to one of two different social networks wherein you stalk and creep other people’s photos and lives without having to knock on their doors to find out what they’re really like.

So, who’s creepy now?

4 responses

  1. I’m nosy and fully admit it! Keith says I’ll get a kink in my neck from peering into livingroom windows during our evening walks :)

    February 5, 2011 at 7:59 pm

    • I find the only time I really want to get a good look at someone is when I’m passing them on the highway. Weird…

      February 5, 2011 at 8:14 pm

  2. Thanks for thinking of me tonight honey! and for exposing a part of who I am to the world!

    February 5, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    • isn’t that what husbands are for????
      I like to people watch in the airport…..seems we spend too much time there. Who are they meeting? why do they have flowers? Why is she crying?????
      Keeps life interesting!

      February 6, 2011 at 6:27 am

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,384 other followers