(mostly) daily photoblog

What will the apocalypse look like?

When I was little, like seven or eight years old, I would go to my Grandma’s house to be watched while my parents would go out with their friends.  We would play Chinese Checkers and Snakes and Ladders and UNO.  My grandma would take out a giant plate of cookies that were partially frozen – frozen because grandma would make ten or twelve dozen cookies in a mad Mennonite grandma moment and then freeze them all just in case visitors came over and then she’d have something to serve – jam jams, sour cream cookies, sugar cookies, ginger snaps, you name it she made it.

Then grandma would get all serious.  She would pour a few glasses of milk for my sisters and me and we’d be eating cookies and she’d pull out this postcard sized picture.  On it was a picture of the apocalypse.  Cars were crashed into each other, buildings were on fire, the world was in destruction mode.  The souls of the saved were floating up to the sky and the sun was shooting through the clouds in very defined rays.  Every time I see rays of sunshine coming through the clouds I think of grandma’s “scare’em into heaven” postcard of the apocalypse.  So, even though this is a shot of the Oregon Coast from a beautiful summer vacation, the sun’s rays bring me back to my grandma’s kitchen and her attempts to save my soul.

I’m posting this on Photo Friday for this week’s challenge:  Liquid.  Feel free to check out the other entries to this week’s photo challenge.

4 responses

  1. Okay…a postcard like that would scare me right into believing whatever I could to get me into heaven too!
    I just love this photo you’ve posted. It’s absolutely fantastic!!!

    November 13, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    • Thanks for the kind words. I think, as far as the whole “saved soul” went, I had drank the Kool-Aid for God by that point, but grandma was determined to remind me that I’d better hurry up and not end up as one of the poor souls in the crashed cars.

      November 13, 2010 at 10:44 pm

  2. Ali

    Amazing capture, nice..

    November 14, 2010 at 1:27 am

  3. Great photograph! Like the dramatic sky!

    November 14, 2010 at 7:58 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,383 other followers