(mostly) daily photoblog

Notre Dame in Black and White

I was going through my photos from Montreal and found this one.  It’s hard to believe that I haven’t posted this.  I found Mary’s halo of stars quite interesting.  I’ve not seen a great number of Catholic churches – I mean, I’ve been to Italy and seen more than my share – but I’ve not seen a church with a facade that looks like this.  It’s simple and beautiful, and Mary has stars.  I’m sorry.  I can’t get over this.  Does anyone know what it means?

7 responses

  1. Try google! I’m sure you’ll find the answers there.

    October 23, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    • I tried and got a bunch of lame answers. I rephrased a few times and then gave up. I still love the shot, though my curiosity is piqued.

      October 24, 2010 at 10:21 am

  2. Phillip Barnett

    This is an awfully impressive building and a great shot. As for the stars, I know there is a passage in Revelation that says something about a woman with 12 stars on her head. I don’t remember if that particular passage was referencing Mary, but there may be some connection there.

    October 24, 2010 at 7:31 am

    • Thanks for the nice words. I’ll have to check out that passage.

      October 24, 2010 at 10:22 am

  3. I don’t know what the stars mean, but you have an interesting angle and it’s really great in B&W. Nice!

    October 24, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    • Apparently, it may be a reference to a line in Revelation, the apocalyptic book in the Bible. Thanks for the nice words.

      October 24, 2010 at 9:02 pm

  4. Kerry

    I just sent you an email with the explanation. :)

    October 25, 2010 at 6:37 am

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,388 other followers