(mostly) daily photoblog

My daughter is a gift of which I couldn’t have dreamt.

When my daughter was born I was pretty sure that I was out of my depth.  When the obstetrician said, “She’s a girl,” I thought two things:  “Yay!” and “Oh crap!”  I didn’t know anything about girls.  Sure, I had two sisters, but my job as the older brother was to make their lives miserable and scare off boys I didn’t like.  But raising a daughter?  Yeesh.

Over the past nine years I’ve had the joy and pain of raising my daughter.  I love her more than my own life and I can’t wait to watch as she grows into a woman (although I secretly hope she stops growing up and stays my little girl).  Honestly, I think I’m more terrified now than I was nine years ago when she was born.

Pentax K20D; Sigma 70-210mm; f11; ISO 100; 1/640 sec.

5 responses

  1. Aww she’s so cute! You seem like a great father :)

    August 9, 2010 at 10:06 am

    • Thanks. Yeah, she’s pretty cute, but she’s 9 and I can’t wait (sarcasm) for when she get to 13 or 14 years old.

      August 9, 2010 at 4:13 pm

  2. nothing much

    your love for her shows in your photography. i wish you the best of luck in her teenage years!

    August 9, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    • I teach high school so I kind of know what to expect, but maybe that’s what scares me.

      August 9, 2010 at 4:32 pm

      • nothing much

        that would scare anyone.

        August 10, 2010 at 6:01 pm

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,386 other followers